Friday, February 8, 2019

Record Player No. 3

It has been some time since I've posted, and I thought what better to come back with new music in hand?

But first you're subjected to hear updates on my life in bullet form:

  1. I moved away from home for the first time, and I am living in a studio apartment, alone.
  2. I was diagnosed bipolar II in 2016, and still struggling.
  3. Still depressed as shit.
  4. I am studying for a PhD in psychology with biology minor, yeah boi.
  5. I ran a marathon in 2017 and I am running another one this year.
  6. I am traveling to look at graduate schools; I came back from Denver two weeks ago to look at Boulder. Next destinations on the list are Seattle and Eugene.
  7. That is really it for now; I am depressed as shit, so that is all I can come up with at the moment.
Now onto the music portion of this evening. I have been enjoying trap, rock, electronic, and alternative lately. I've also revisited the music I used to listen to when I was in high school and the beginning years of college, basically from 2013-2016.

  1. A$AP Forever (feat. Moby, T.I, & Kid Cudi) by A$AP Rocky 
  2. Bellyache by Billie Eillish 
  3. Commissioning a Symphony in C by Cake
  4. 6's to 9's (Rationale) by Big Wild
  5. Yes I'm Changing by Tame Impala
  6. Sober II (Melodrama) by Lorde
  7. Feels like I'm Only Go Backwards by Tame Impala
  8. Legend by Twenty One Pilots 
  9. Kodachrome by Paul Simon
  10. A Change is Going to Come By Greta Van Fleet
  11. It's Gonna Be (Alright) by Ween
  12. Bye-Bye Darling by BØRNS
  13. Born to Die by Lana Del Rey
  14. Leather Symphony (feat. A$AP Twelvyy) by Flatbush Zombies
I have made it easy for everyone and linked them all. Enjoy.

I'll post an update of my life soon, a lot has changed.

M.I.A

Saturday, June 27, 2015

Record Player No. 2


         I've realized that a good portion of my money goes into music, which I love and hate. I love that 1. new music 2. I don't have to have an app to listen to music for free and deal with all the annoying ads, and 3. It's mine and I know when I switch phones I can easily get my music on the next phone. I hate it because, 1. I'm now broke 2. I get sick of songs easily and 3. it's taking up all of my memory on my phone. Anyways, for this Record Player I've chosen 15 songs from my long list of favorite songs from the 60's-70's. I grew up on rock music; my dad is a big fan. On long road trips we would listen to singers and songwriters collection, Nazareth, Steve Miller Band, The Beatles and many more. These songs reminds me of warm memories, I hope you enjoy.

1. Me and Bobby McGee- Janis Joplin 
2. In the Summertime- Mungo Jerry
3. Torn and Frayed- The Rolling Stones
4. Sweet Jane- The Velvet Underground
5. House of the Rising Sun- The Animals
6. Bohemian Rhapsody- Queen
7. Gimme Three Steps- Lynyrd Skynyrd 
8. Sister Golden Hair- America
9. Jealous Guy- John Lennon
10. I'd Love To Change the World- Ten Years After
11. Whiskey Drinkin' Woman- Nazareth 
12. Walk On the Wild Side- Lou Reed
13. No Expectations- The Rolling Stones
14. Ripple- Grateful Dead
15. Have a Cigar- Pink Floyd
(BONUS) 16. Serenade- Steve Miller Band


-MIA







Guess whos back, back again,


MIA is back, tell a friend...

         Okay first of all, have you ever noticed when you say a word repeatedly it starts sounding foreign, and fake? I was writing the "back, back again" up above and after awhile I started loosing my mind and thinking it was a made up word and I just finally gave up.
          I just read through my old posts and I'm starting to realize how self conscious and negative I was. It's sad, when I wrote those I was fifteen-sixteen and just going into my junior year of highschool. I was dealing with depression and I had a tumblr, so you know how bad it was. I just crumpled into myself and didn't socialize, I really just hated myself. I know my previous posts are embarrassing but they're going to stay up because I think it's important to see how much I've grown in almost two years. Maybe I'll take them down one day, but for now you are able to bask in the uncomfortableness with me. Enjoy.
          So I have a plan for this blog, remember when I said running is awful? Well, I have seen the light and I am in love! Since then I have ran four half marathons and I'm running my fifth on July 4th. Then I decided to do something stupid and sign up for a marathon for October. I'm on week two of my training plan and so far it's going okay... but I have shin splints...and my race is in a week exactly. I'm going through the RICE program so we'll see what happens next. Back to what I have planned, I was thinking of kind of making this into more of a running blog, what do you think? I would still ramble on and I'm still going to be continuing on my Record Player music choice thing... I don't know it's still a work in progress at the moment. I'm excited for what's to come and I hope you are too. I'm going to be posting daily or every other day I haven't decided yet, lets just go with the flow. 


-MIA

Monday, December 2, 2013

Gay Fan Fiction and My Lonesome Life

Well, Hello. 

              I know I haven't written in a great deal of time and that because I have so much course work and not really its because I'm a lazy fuck. I really do like to write and share my life and my vast experiences with whoever has the desire to take five minutes out of their life to read my complaints, I thank you. 
              I wanted to talk about a lot of things today, starting with changes. It's a relatively scary thing, they can be unnoticed or a major slap in the face. For example, I had a best friend from 2 until i was about 13-14. We were true as blue, but we just grew apart because we went to different middle school and now different high schools. It's a shit thing but it happens! Another example because I am just full of them today. When you get addicted to something, you don't notice you're changing but the people around you do, you may stop hanging around them because they're just acting fucking insane and you are defiantly not addicted and you can stop whenever! We all know what I'm talking about, gay fan fiction. 
           Another thing I wanted to talk about is a little more on the serious note. I just want to get it out there and say I'm not a happy person in general. Yes, I laugh and socialize and do all the some what norm human interactions. I do have depression and I suffer from body issues which led to me having bulimia, I'm still working on controlling it. Another thing is I'm a closeted bisexual, i'll do a different thing on this. My parents aren't the most friendly to homosexuality, it's not like they hate people who like the same gender it just makes them uncomfortable and they think it's unnatural. They're pretty old fashion and I can't really blame them they were raised to hate people who loved they same gender. Although it is fucking 2013 (almost '14 ((crazy!!))) like come on. 
            I've got to do another record thing, because my music taste has changed yet once again. (oh fuck, I forgot to tell you guys I applied to two places, a church which is really awkward since I'm Atheist, and to Starbucks #whitegurl. I really hope I get them!!) It's like 11:30pm and tomorrow is my first day back from Thanksgiving break, I gained 5 pounds, greeeat. Anyways I hope whoever is reading this had a fab Thanksgiving and is currently having a happy and content life! oh and my dog died btw.

-M.I.A

Friday, August 30, 2013

Record Player No. 1


I love music.

The amazing thing about music is that it bonds people together. It can give you something to talk about with that girl/guy you like, it's a beautiful thing. It can cause a national movement or cause a break-up, and the cool thing is It has been doing this for forever. I honestly don't think I can go a day without listening to my favorite song. Music (sadly) expresses my emotions better than I do. So, what I was thinking I would do, because I want to share what music i've been obsessing over is start this new segment called "Record Player". I think this will be a recurring thing about every two weeks because I get sick of songs easily. I'll also put in new apps for listening to music for free because i'm cheap as fuck. 
This month i've been really liking the app ITube, it's basically youtube but when you watch a video it caches, which means you can watch the video without the use of internet. I really love this app, and its free! Of course, the other app i've been loving is my baby, Pandora. Pandora is wonderful -well- was wonderful, you can only listen to 60 (correct me if i'm wrong) hours of music in a month, if you exceed the limit you'll have to pay 99 cents for the rest of the month. It take me three days to exceed the limit. 
Like I said above, I go through music insanely fast. Its saddening  but it means I always have new artists to listen to. If you were wondering what style I like, it's everything but country. When I say everything it means rap, hip-hop, indie, pop (not my favorite but some songs are catchy, shitty but catchy), and classical. I listen to classical when I write my essays for school, it really helps I promise. (actually I think i'm going to do some school study/organizational/social tips soon, stay tuned for that).  My favorite songs right now are (they're all linked so you can just click on them and have a listen)


Enjoy!


-M.I.A


A Love-Hate Relationship

           

          Running is a Bitch



       I just now got back from my daily run and it makes me think, I wish I loved to run or even liked it. I really wish I was a person who wakes up just as the sun is about to arise, slide on their runners and head out the door for a 5k. I really do, but I absolutely hate running. It's a horrid thing, yet so perfect. I envy people who can so easily run 5-10 miles and look like a pro doing so. Some people are born with a natural stride (and those are the ones we non-naturals want to avoid),  you can always pick naturals out from the non-natural.The people with the natural stride are the ones who look peaceful and they make it look way too easy, and I mean way too easy. They make me want to run for miles and come back refreshed and looking forward to the day, but in reality I die just after 5 minutes and I want to shoot myself in the face. I will personally name myself as a non-natural runner, it's a terrible life for non-naturals, let me explain how.    
Firstly, let me tell you how I run. From personal experience and people watching at the local park this is a thing, a major thing. I am not the only one doing this thing. I'm going to be completely honest here and say if you run next to me I will end up punching you in the face, on accident of course. I swing my arms, yes, lock me away I am a terrible human. When I say I swing my arms I mean I swing my arms, allot of people don't fully understand. It's a relatively hard thing to describe over the internet so i'll try my best. Remember when you were younger and you would imitate the superhero Flash running by moving your arms back in forth? Yeah it's something like that. Another example is from the show Friends, the episode where Rachel and Phoebe go on runs together until Rachel finds out how obnoxious Phoebe runs. I'm like that but tone it down about two notches. I try to stop, believe me, but it makes me feel like i'm going a million miles per hour and its a real cool feeling. Quoting Miley Cyrus, I cannot be tamed. 
Gym class. It is truly the worst place ever, it is there to either humiliate or praise you. There are usually three main categories that people slide into. The jocks, the blatantly obvious non-athletic people, and the people who get out of everything. The jocks always have a great time, with their bodies built like greek goddesses, running a mile in 4:50 (some kid actually did this I don't know if this is rare, but color me impressed) and prizewinning hair. Its hard not to drool over them, but they sometimes forget its actually gym class and not nationals. Then there are the blatantly obvious non-athletic people, aka me. We try to not look like we're trying so hard we could cry blood. Some of us are just really lazy, overweight, or just have a "lolfuckthisshit" attitude, aka me. We are the ones that the jocks hate, in soccer we are the ones who let the ball roll by even though I could have totally gotten that. We are the ones who come in last for running the mile (actually I wasn't last this year I got 7 minutes which is 'eh' compared to what I can run now, 5 minutes). Last but not least, and personally my favorite, the people who can literally get out of anything. I loathe these people, and not for the reason you might suspect. I can't lie to teachers for some reason, they see right through me, so when I see one of these people walking out the door with a pink slip I cry inside. Luckily for me I have friends that can lie to teachers and thats why I love them. 
The title says "A Love-Hate Relationship" and now you're probably thinking "Well MIA, I haven't read anything about you loving running?" ah yes, I really do enjoy running no matter how much I say I hate it. I helps me relieve my emotions from the day, which I need else I explode. Running relaxes my muscles, I think about life's unanswered questions, sometimes I even forget i'm running. I really think all people should learn to run. Yes I say "learn", why? because it doesn't come easy, the breathing techniques, strides, pace, it all takes practice just like anything else. I really didn't expect to write such a long post but It happens, to anyone who actually read this until the end thank you! x

-M.I.A